The New Seven Wonders of the World

The New Seven Wonders of the World

Hello Everyone,
Bhushan Dhule here…
I’m back again with my new post about The New Seven Wonders of the World
Here in my post I had mention and inform about new seven wonders of the world.
I can bet on it you are going to love these post and will find it very enjoyable and useful. Let’s begin!


The New Seven Wonders Of The World :

The Great Wall of China. The Taj Mahal . Petra. The Colosseum. Christ the Redeemer. Chichén Itzá. Machu Picchu.

The New Seven Wonders of the World

These sites and monuments are popularly referred to as the “the new Seven Wonders of the world ,” modern additions to the traditional Seven Wonders laid out by Philo of Byzantium in 250 B.C., including the hanging gardens of Babylon and therefore the pyramids of Giza. (Of those ancient seven, only the pyramids remain.)

The new wonders were chosen in 2007 through an internet contest placed on by a Swiss company, the New 7 Wonders Foundation, during which quite tens of the many people voted. All are Unesco World Heritage sites.

Built on four continents, most by ancient and medieval empires, the sites selected in 2007 are all architectural marvels of enormous scale and are among the foremost visited tourist attractions within the world.

1. The Great Wall, China :

Built from 220 B.C. to A.D. 1644 by several emperors and dynasties.The New Seven Wonders of the WorldThe Great Wall of China was built over a period of 1800 years to protect against invaders.

• Now a Chinese national symbol, the vast Chinese Wall was built over nearly 1800 years. the good Wall is really many walls that overlap; the combined length of these layers is estimated to be 10,000 to 20,000 kilometers.
• the planning of the wall, which is made across mountain passes and ridges, makes strategic use of the natural terrain.
• the simplest preserved portion of the wall runs east to west from southeastern Liaoning Province to northwestern Gansu . The Ming strengthened and maintained these sections from 1368 to 1644.

2. The Taj Mahal , India :

Built 1632-48. Commissioned by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan .The New Seven Wonders of the WorldMughal emperor Shah Jahan built a mausoleum in memory of his wife, Mumtaz, in Agra, India.

• The Taj Mahal is one among the crowning architectural achievements of the Mughal empire, which ruled most of the Indian subcontinent from 1526 to 1761. It took around 20,000 workers and 16 years to create .
• The building reflects the Mughal style of architecture , stressing symmetry and balance.
• In recent years, restoration efforts are focused on protecting the ivory marble facades from pollution.

3. Petra, Jordan :

Built 4th century B.C. to 2nd century A.D. by the Nabatean kingdom.The New Seven Wonders of the WorldThe Nabateans built the town , now in modern-day Jordan, during a strategic spot located along early silk and spice trade routes.

• The town of Petra was built by the Nabateans, who lived within the Wadi Musa valley for quite 400 years, during a spot strategically located along early silk and spice trade routes. the town fell to the Roman Empire during a .D. 106.
• The Hellenistic facades are carved directly into the canyons and use the natural terrain as guides. Today, the monuments are susceptible to flash flooding within the Wadi Musa and continuing erosion from wind and rain.

4. The Roman Colosseum, Italy :

Built A.D. 72-82. Commissioned by Flavian emperors during the primary century of the Roman Empire .The New Seven Wonders of the WorldThe largest amphitheater of the Roman Empire could delay to 70,000 people.

• The Colosseum — an amphitheater with arcades and half columns — is an example of the Roman Empire’s architectural innovation.
• it had been used for gladiator and hunting shows, also as public executions, for four centuries. After the autumn of the Roman Empire , it had been used temporarily as a housing complex.
• Earthquake damage and therefore the mining of the Colosseum’s materials have left just one-third of the first structure in situ .
• Restoration efforts are stepped up since the first 19th century. In 2016, a three-year restoration of the building’s facade was completed.

5. Christ The Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro :

Built 1926-31. Commissioned by the Roman Catholic archdiocese of Rio de Janeiro.The New Seven Wonders of the WorldA colossal statue of Jesus on top of Mount Corcovado in Rio de Janeiro.

• The Christ the Redeemer statue in Brazil, the foremost recently constructed of the new Seven Wonders, stands 125 feet tall. At the time the statue was commissioned by the Catholic Church within the early 20th century, over 90 percent of Brazilians were Catholic. Images of the Christ statue are reproduced throughout Brazil.
• so as for the statue, which weighs 1,145 tons, to support its massive arm span, it had been made with ferroconcrete . it’s considered the most important artistic movement sculpture within the world.
• Its location, atop a 710-meter-tall mountain, has left it susceptible to weather and damage from lightning. one among the best restoration challenges presented by the statue is matching the colour of its six million stone tiles.

6. Chichén Itzá, Mexico :

Built 5th-13th century by the Maya-Toltec civilization.The New Seven Wonders of the WorldAn ancient Maya city that eventually became a part of the Maya-Toltec civilization.

• Chichén Itzá was an ancient Maya city that eventually became a part of the Maya-Toltec civilization. It flourished until around A.D. 1200, and later joined a political alliance with the cities of Mayapán and Uxmal.
• It had already been abandoned by the time the Spanish arrived within the 16th century. Archaeological excavations began within the early 19th century.
• The ruins feature religious temples that epitomize Maya innovation in astronomy and science. The Temple of Kukulkán has 365 steps, one for every day within the Haab calendar . The temple is crowned by a carving of Kukulkán, also referred to as Quetzalcoatl, the feathered serpent deity.

7. Machu Picchu, Peru :

Built in the mid-15th century by the Incas.The New Seven Wonders of the WorldThe Incan settlement nestled 2,430 meters above water level within the eastern Andes mountains.

• Machu Picchu may be a pre-Columbian Incan settlement, one among the few that remain intact. Situated on the eastern slope of the Andes Mountains, it had been probably built as a royal retreat for the Incan emperor Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui, not intended to be visited by the masses. In use from the mid-15th century to the mid-16th century, it had been eventually abandoned, although the rationale isn’t clear.
• Though the Incan empire was conquered by the Spanish in 1532, the conquistadors didn’t find the site; it had been eventually “discovered” in 1911. The architecture was integrated into the natural terrain, its walls and terraces dig the rock. Today, it’s reached either by hiking up the Incan trail through the Andes or by train.
• so as to raised preserve the structures, the Peruvian government has began to limit the quantity of your time tourists may spend at the location .

Also Check : Top 10 Attractions To Visit In Mumbai City.

Something Wrong Please Contact to Davsy Admin

1 thought on “The New Seven Wonders of the World”

Leave a Comment